I’m going on a rafting trip in the Grand Canyon in late May, followed by a busy week in the San Francisco Bay Area. If you’re planning a similar trip, this itinerary may provide some ideas you can use. All times are local.



Driving Map

Saturday, May 19

Depart Providence at 0600 and arrive in Denver at around 1100.
Pick up rental car and drive 90 miles to Colorado Springs to visit family.
Route: I-70 W ➜ I-470 W ➜ I-25 S
Begin to acclimate to conditions on the Colorado Plateau (6000’ elevation, very low humidity).

Sunday, May 20

Depart Colorado Springs and drive 280 miles to the home of a friend near Chromo, Colorado.
Probable route: US-24 W ➜ US-285 S ➜ US-160 W ➜ US-84 W

Monday, May 21

Drive 90 miles to Durango, Colorado to visit with a cousin and her family.
Route: US-84 W ➜ US-160 W ➜ US-550 N

Tuesday, May 22

Depart Durango at 0600 and drive 315 miles to Grand Canyon Village, Arizona.
Route: US-160 W ➜ AZ-64 W
Park rental car in a public parking area near Bright Angel Lodge.
Take a shuttle from Grand Canyon Village to Marble Canyon, Arizona.
Meet the guides and fellow rafters, and prepare for the rafting trip.

Wednesday, May 23 – Sunday, May 27

Raft and camp along an 80-mile stretch of the Colorado River in the upper Grand Canyon.
We start rafting at the Lees Ferry boat ramp, about 10 miles southwest of Glen Canyon Dam.
The trip ends near the base of the Bright Angel Trail, directly below the South Rim.

Monday, May 28

Hike up the Bright Angel Trail to the South Rim (eight hours, 1 mile vertical gain).
Check into the El Tovar Hotel and take a hot shower.

Tuesday, May 29

Drive 400 miles from Grand Canyon National Park to La Quinta Inn in Victorville, California.
Route: AR-64 S ➜ I-40 W ➜ I-15 S

Wednesday, May 30

Drive 270 miles from Victorville to June Lake Campground, near Yosemite National Park.
Route: US-395 N

Thursday, May 31

Drive 240 miles from June Lake to Berkeley, California.
Probable route: US 395 N ➜ CA 120 W ➜ I-205 S ➜ I-580 W ➜ I-80 E

Friday, June 1

Meetings and shopping in San Francisco.

Saturday, June 2 - Sunday, June 3

On Saturday, drive to Philo in the Anderson Valley for the annual picnic of the Husch Vineyards Wine Club.
On Sunday, drive down to Mountain View to stay with friends during the upcoming conference (see below).

Monday, June 4 - Friday, June 8

Attend the Apple Worldwide Developer Conference in downtown San Jose, California.

Saturday, June 9

Drive 375 miles from Berkeley to Winnemucca, Nevada via I-80 E.

Sunday, June 10

Drive 400 miles from Winnemucca to Springville, Utah.
Route: I-80 E ➜ I-15 N ➜ UT-75 E

Monday, June 11

Drive 470 miles from Springville to Fort Collins, Colorado.
Route: US-6 E ➜ US-191 N ➜ US-40 E

Tuesday, June 12

Drive from Fort Collins to Denver, drop off rental car, and catch a late morning flight back to Providence.